I n e e d y o u r h e l p

I   n e e d   y o u r   h e l p !
 M y   w e l f a r e   w o r k e r   j u s t   t o l d   m e   I   w i l l   o n l y   g e t  
$ 4 5   a   m o n t h to live on
W r i t t e n   b y   D a n i e l   J   T o w s e y   A u g u s t   2 5   2 0 1 1
I   j u s t   r e c e n t l y   h a d   t o   m o v e   o u t   o f   m y   a p a r t m e n t   i n   D a r t m o u t h
b e c a u s e   i t   w a s   n o t   c l o s e   t o   a   g r o c e r y   s t o r e   o r   a n y t h i n g   e l s e .
I t   d i d   n o t   h a v e   a   s i d e w a l k   a n d   I   c o u l d   n o t   g e t   m y
g r o c e r i e s   i n   w i n t e r .
I   l i v e   a l o n e   a n d   I   a m   s e r i o u s l y   d i s a b l e d   a n d   I   h a v e   t o   g e t
a r o u n d   i n   a n   e l e c t r i c   w h e e l c h a i r .
I   a m   n o w   l i v i n g   d o w n t o w n   H a l i f a x   n e a r   t h i n g s   w h i c h   m e a n s
m y   r e n t   i s   e x p e n s i v e   ( a n d   e l e c t r i c   h e a t   i s   n o t   i n c l u d e d ) .
S o   m y   r e n t   i s   b e i n g   s u b s i d i z e d .
M y   p o w e r   b i l l   i s   d u e   b y   S e p t   6 t h   a n d   t h e   p o w e r   w i l l   b e   t u r n e d   o f f .
I   n e e d   p o w e r   f o r   h e a t ,   f o o d   a n d   e s p e c i a l l y   t o   r e c h a r g e   m y
e l e c t r i c   w h e e l c h a i r .
M y   c o m m u n i t y   s e r v i c e s   w o r k e r   i s   R o b e r t   P i e r c e
( 9 0 2 )   4 2 4 – 4 1 5 0   o r   4 2 4 – 4 7 7 3 .
H e   i s   r e f u s i n g   t o   p a y   f o r   m y   e l e c t r i c i t y .
M i n i s t e r   o f   C o m m u n i t y   s e r v i c e s   i s   L i n d a   B u t l e r – F o x   a t   4 2 4 – 4 3 2 5

P l e a s e   p h o n e   t h e m   a n d   e x p r e s s   y o u r   o u t r a g e   i f   y o u   a r e  w i l l i n g   t o   h e l p .
I   w i l l   b e   p o s t i n g   u p d a t e s   a b o u t   t h i s   a t   m y   b l o g
h t t p : / / d a n i e l t o w s e y . w o r d p r e s s . c o m
I f   y o u   s e e   n o   u p d a t e s   i t   m e a n s   t h a t   I   w i l l   b e   i n   s e r i o u s   d a n g e r   a s
I   w i l l   n o t   b e   a b l e   t o   e a t ,   t r a v e l ,   p h o n e   o r   d o   a n y t h i n g .

6 thoughts on “I n e e d y o u r h e l p”

  1. You should move to Boston and apply for U.S. citizenship at least here they care for the handicapped. I am handicapped myself but along with my government programs my family helps me. I have no money myself.The sooner you make the move the better. I think it is still easy for Canadians to move here, you can decide later whether to keep the Canadian if dual is allowed or give it up.If you can get enough from friends and supporters to move,you can apply and determine when its best to renounce your Canadian citizenship.We have emergency programs here especially while waiting for approval of citizenship. I hope this helps,Facebook would help a lot more and Twitter too. It sounds like someone in the government is out to destroy you. You probably criticized some powerful asshole, they wish to demonstrate their godly natures to the world! However should you move here its for personal reasons get a doctors letter that a milder climate will help and the proximity to the best hospitals in North America in Boston but leave any mention of the touble behind you it makes it easier to absorb you into what remains of free America fleeing royal oppression.Once you get citizenship here you can apply for a housing voucher that sometimes takes years to process thats why I suggest Facebook & Twitter to appeal for funds to come to the land of the free. More than this I do not have but $50 in my account $10 of which must go to my Medicaire subsidized chiropractor. Good luck Anton

    Like

  2. Daniel…this is disgraceful! I WILL be ringing your community workers and voicing my outrage.
    How DARE they treat you in such a way.
    My thoughts and love are with you and I wish you well,
    Kind regards,
    Tracey

    Like

  3. An update for those of you who care..

    Things seem to be getting better with my social workers’ attitude…If he keeps his word then I should be alright now with my community services social security blanket…

    Now I just need to get Halifax Metro Public Transit to stop harassing me and to live up to their Nova Scotia Human Rights agreement to start treating people in wheelchairs with the same respect, dignity and service that everyone else has always been receiving..

    Thank You for those of you who have been phoning and trying to help..

    Like

  4. Rainbow Heart; I called Bob Pierce (902-424-4773 gets you his messaage box), left a message for Linda Butler-Fox (902-424-4325) who is on vacation through Sept. 6, so I also left a message for her assistant minister, (couldn’t. Catch her name) at (902-424-1628). I was her pleasant but voiced strong concern and asked that each call me back to let me know how I could help (I am not able to take on any costs – but I told.them I could help in any other way). I emphasized what a dire position you are in and that it is essential this.problem be remediated as skins as possible. Sorry for your tough time! Hope this helps! LET’S JAM THEIR VOICE MAIL BOXES EVERYONE! POWER IN NUMBERS! good luck with everything,Daniel! Keep me posted!

    Like

  5. Dear Daniel,
    Do you have an adress or phone number that perhaps people could send you some money to help you through this rough time. You are truly an inspiration to us all. Anton’s suggestion is very good. God Bless.
    Joanne

    Like

  6. Thank you everyone.. Things are going better now.. I will have enough money to live a simple life.. Now I am trying to get the government to replace the worn out electric wheelchair they gave me that has needed constant repairs..

    I was told today that they will now work on providing me with a new wheelchair, to be received in about two and a half months..in time for winter..

    I am still trying to addapt from being an exceptionally fit and strong person to now being as wek as a hundred year old man. As well as my constant pain and medical complications..

    The worse thing is that I can still stand and walk around slowly in my apartment ..the reason why this is bad is that my ability to stand leaves people not believing I have any physical disabilities..

    My personal mental strength in dealing with my horrible injuries is understandably not understood by people..

    I do not look for pity..

    All I want to do is, do my best to cope with my new and very limited quality of life..

    Thank you everyone for your kind supportive comments..They are greatly appreciated and very encouraging..

    With my love ..

    Like

Leave a Reply

